The International Advisory Council (hereafter referred to as the "Council") is an internal advisory body consisting of experts of international reputation and status, who at the request of the company provide advice to help the company better understanding global macroeconomic and financial issues and develop its overall strategic direction and policies, including overseas investment strategies, policies and processes. The Council convenes once a year.


In according with the Council's Charter, CIC appointed members for the fifth term of the Council in 2018 and convened 11th International Advisory Council Meeting in September 2019.



Shaukat Aziz (Pakistan)

Former Prime Minister of Pakistan; former Executive Vice President, Citibank

Zhou Xiaochuan (China)

President of China Society for Finance and Banking;Former Governor of the People's Bank of China

Justin Yifu Lin (China)

Dean, Institute of New Structural Economics at Peking University; former Chief Economist and Senior Vice President, World Bank

Frederick Ma (Hong Kong, China)

Council Chairman, the Education University of Hong Kong; Honorary Professor, School of Economics and Finance, University of Hong Kong; former Secretary of Commerce and Economic Development, the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China; former Chairman, MTR Corporation Limited

Andrew Sheng (Malaysia)

Chief Advisor to China Banking Regulatory Commission; former Chairman, Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong.


Omari Issa (Tanzania)

CEO, Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete Foundation; Chairman, International Board, AMREF Health Africa

John H. Maree (South Africa)

Chairman, Liberty Group; Deputy Chairman and former CEO, Standard Bank Group


Merit E. Janow (United States of America)

Dean, School of International and Public Affairs, and Professor of Practice, International Economic Law and International Affairs, Columbia University; former member of the Appellate Body of the World Trade Organization

John L. Thornton (United States of America)

Chair Emeritus, Brookings Institution;Co-Chair, Board of Trustees of the Asia Society; Chairman, Barrick Gold Corporation; former President, Goldman Sachs Group

Andrónico Luksic  (Chile)

Chairman, Luksic Group


Gerhard Schr?der (Germany)

Chairman of the Shareholders' Committee, Nord Stream; former Chancellor of Germany

Jean Lemierre (France)

Chairman of BNP Paribas; former President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Lord Sassoon (United Kingdom)

President of the China-Britain Business Council; former Commercial Secretary to the Treasury of the United Kingdom 


 Chen Jia 

Head of Department of Public Relations and International Cooperation, CIC; Secretary-General, Secretariat of International Advisory Council, CIC

Former Members

Details ↓ ↓